Kevin Ross joins the Digital Council for Aotearoa - December 6, 2021

The Digital Council for Aotearoa welcomes new members

Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications, David Clark has appointed Julia Arnott-Neenee and Kevin Ross as new members of the Digital Council for Aotearoa.

Digital Council chairperson, Mitchell Pham said he was particularly excited by the new talent joining the council.

"As we prepare for our work programme in 2022, which focuses on digital and data innovation, this is a crucial moment to strengthen our offering as a council. The expertise Julia and Kevin bring  complement and elevate the skills we already have on offer as a council."

Minister Clark said the new members' expertise was a valuable addition to the Council's impressive existing membership and work programme.

“The Council’s research and advice to date has focused on the importance of trust and inclusion in the digital world. This  reflects the key themes of the Digital Strategy for Aotearoa, currently being developed, which will enable us to build a world-class digital nation,  improve the lives of  our people and supports  the transition to a low emissions economy."

“Julia and Kevin’s internationally-recognised expertise in data and digital insights will be invaluable to the council as it focuses on digital innovation,” Dr Clark said.

Julia Arnott-Neenee is currently Director of Strategy and Insights at The Spinoff Group. She has held multiple senior strategy and insights positions at Hewlett-Packard in the UK and US and is the co-founder of a PeopleforPeople, a Pacific social enterprise focused on digital empowerment.

Dr Kevin Ross is the CEO of Precision Driven Health and Director of Research for Orion Health. He was formerly Chief Scientist – Optimisation Modelling at Fonterra and has worked in the UK and US as an academic, analyst and consultant. He was a 2021 co-recipient of the Prime Minister’s Science Prize as part of the Te Pūnaha Matatini COVID-19 response modelling team.

More about the Digital Council for Aotearoa

The Digital Council is an independent group of experts who advise the government on how to navigate the rapidly changing digital and data landscape in a way that will benefit all New Zealanders.

Drawing on members’ expertise, the council acts as a bridge, or connector, between industry, community and government agencies. The two new members fill vacancies on the 7-person Council.

The Minister for Digital Economy and Communications, David Clark, appoints all members of the Digital Council. The process is facilitated by the Department of Internal Affairs. Members are appointed for a 12-month term, which can be renewed.

As of 17 December, the Council will be made up of:

  • Mitchell Pham (Chair)
  • Roger Dennis
  • Kendall Flutey
  • Colin Gavaghan
  • Nikora Ngaropo
  • Julia Arnott-Neenee
  • Kevin Ross



Posted by

Liam McLeavey

Operations Manager

Join the NZHIT network

The strong network of NZHIT members work collaboratively to provide solutions to enable the health and wellbeing of people living in New Zealand and Globally